Skip navigation

Donald

Well, the Disney course started last week so I thought I’d drop a couple of lines about the first days learning the Disney comics ways.

The course is split in a series of intensive workshops, which I appreciate since I still have my final project to wrap up and finish and having to attend regular classes would really mess my schedule up. It was a very intense, heavily packed experience of enterprise profiling, tradition communicating, drawing master classes and high speed storytelling and Donald Duck drawing exercises, corrections included.

The level of awesome of the guys standing in front of us and sharing all the secrets of the craft is mindblowing, guys. And they’re communicative and open and don’t seem willing to keep a single thing to themselves, which I very much appreciate.

They insisted a lot in everything having to do with the expressivity and dynamism in the poses of the characters to reinforced gags and feelings througout the stories, in the direction of the reading in the storytelling, on how to use perspective to the advantage of the script and in the importance of tracing and copying from references to educate our hand in mastering not only Disney characters, but anything and everything we want to learn how to draw (dear me, I do think that’s a good advice, you can set me on fire).

I enjoyed the workshop thoroughly and I feel I’ve already learnt a lot already and my thought of being in a place where I can push my skills forward are now reinforced.

Enough rambling! Any doubts?

I btw do realise that the two languages blog is not working too well when the posts get long (which has been happening more and more lately. Damnit, wasn’t this a comic and illustration blog?!).

Only three days left for this year’s checkpoint, so excited! See you February the 1st 🙂

Leave a Reply

